Let’s Get Ready to Rumble!

31 Jan

Since I’ve started online dating (more on that in the future), the weirdest message I’d gotten so far was from a fellow whose main profile pic was a glamour shot of his abs that said “I’m back, baby.  And badder than ever.”  That would’ve been clever and flirty, had we ever exchanged so much as a mutual profile peek.

The other night I received a message from a gent in Illinois that read:

It reads: Hi, I’m really sorry to bother you, and I know this is a strange question, but do you have any experience with women’s pro wrestling? I’m a promoter and have been promoting for a long time now and have been looking for the “perfect face,” and I think you have it! 🙂 Not only are you athletic-looking, but you certainly look like you could carry on an intelligent conversation as well!! Get back with me–like I said, it’s a strange question, yes, but it’s totally legitimate 🙂 Thanks 🙂

My first thought?  Spam.  This guy must also send messages as a Nigerian prince who needs your help getting his money out of his country, just your bank account info will help him out!  But who would make this up?

Then I began to think about it.  If this guy is for real, what am I to take from this?

In sharing this message with my good buddy Marcus, who understands the nuance of online dating, I told him I hadn’t responded because I wasn’t sure if it was a compliment or craziness.

Marcus:  He’s saying you look like a wrestler….maybe Stacy Kiebler?!

me:  or chynna

 Marcus:  Ooh yeah
You’re Chynna
me:  but is that good?
I dunno, folks.  I think it’s safe to say he wasn’t comparing me to a tall drink of water that competed on Dancing with the Stars and that George Clooney is dating.  But being compared to a rather burly female wrestler, who in recent times has been more famous for celebrity rehab and raunchy sex tapes?  I hope he was more going for a HOT MMA fighter like Gina Carano.  Maybe there are other hotties of the professional wrestling world that happen to look like me (short, Jewish, a few extra pounds, curly hair)?
I think the real compliment here is that I am “athletic-looking” (thanks to Jodi for making a face as soon as I told you that)… First time EVER those words have been said in association with my jelly.  And no, I do NOT think the world is ready for this jelly.  Although my glasses do make me seem as though I can carry on an intelligent conversation… I’ll give him that.
Leave a Reply

